Packing and other struggels

So after a few weeks in London I am happy to report that I am actually still alive. I had my fair share of doubt back home in good old Germany. I could not sleep for days. There were just too many things running around in my mind making me dizzy. Is the host family going to like me? Will I like my host family? Am I going to miss my friends and family? Will I be able to navigate the way out of the airport in Heathrow all by myself? And how the hell was I supposed to fit my whole life into one suitcase?!?!

The suitcase-closing-problem I solved not with the help of the classical method, sitting on it and pulling that zipper like it is the last think one does. The fact that my suitcase was not supposed to weigh more than 23 kilo kind of solved the whole thing for me. (no zippers were harmed in the closing of this suitcase.)

Still or maybe because of it I needed a whole week to pack. During which my room turned into a battlefield. Every little bit of floor was covered with cloths or other “important” things without which I was for sure not going to survive one year. Accordingly I spent hours before my luggage was supposed to enter into the bally of an airplane with sorting out, repacking and weighing.

I finally managed to pack two suitcases both 23 kilos and two carry-ons with „impotent” things. At this point it is interesting to note that a friend of mine who was going to spend a year as an Au-Pair in California was actually travelling with one suitcase containing 15 kilos of probably actually “important” things.

I realize I have a problem please put down the intervention banner. But in my defence it is much more difficult to pack for a whole year with different seasons as for one big summer holiday. But fine I admit that I have a problem.

After sorted out the packing situation and said goodbye to my family in the airport, I arrived in London and was greeted by Sarb, my host mum and her two daughters. They brought me flowers and chocolate so of cause I liked them instantly.

Arriving in my new home I met the rest of the 5 and a half heads strong family. The half head is not meaning someone literally having only half a head but Bobby the family german Sheppard. Unfortunately I quickly found out that he does not speak German, bummer.

Status: beginning to like it.


Leave a comment